Skip to content
opens in a new window
Advertiser Product close Advertisement
Advertiser Product
Advertiser Product
Advertiser Product Advertiser Product Advertiser Product Advertiser Product

AFE Awards 22 Students With Scholarships

Jennifer Zurko

The American Floral Endowment (AFE) has awarded 22 students from 13 universities with scholarships, totaling $58,100. In 2023, AFE received 86 applications from colleges and universities all over the nation. The Endowment congratulates the Scholarship Class of 2023 and also gives a special thank you to the 52 industry members who reviewed and scored the applications.

AFE provides more scholarships in floriculture than any other organization to help attract, retain and support young professionals in our industry. These scholarships act as a powerful catalyst for the next generation of floral industry leaders. Financial constraints can deter many students, but with the help of these scholarships, future industry leaders and innovators are able to access quality education and training, paving the way for a promising future in the floral industry.

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

• Cherise Hunt, Mt. San Antonio College—American Florists’ Exchange Scholarship ($3,000)

• Sophia LeBard, Washington State University—Julio and Sarah Armellini Scholarship ($3,200)

• Benjamin Stickland, Colorado State University—Ball Horticultural Company Scholarship and Suntory Flowers “Dream Big” Scholarship ($2,900)  

• Ethan Jenkins, North Carolina State University—Harold Bettinger Scholarship ($2,200)  

• Luis Mazariegos, College of DuPage—BioWorks IPM/Sustainable Practices Scholarship ($1,700)

• Francisco Lorenzo Garcia, College of DuPage—James Bridenbaugh Memorial Scholarship and Vocational (Bettinger, Holden, & Perry) Scholarship ($2,100)

• Carla Quimson, Cal Poly-Pomona—CalFlowers Scholarship ($4,250)

• Chelsea Flood, Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo—CalFlowers Scholarship ($4,250)

• Manjot Sidhu, Michigan State University—John Carew Memorial Scholarship ($2,100)

• Alexandria Kruger, Mt. San Antonio College—Carlson-Johnson Scholarship for Non-Traditional Students ($1,300)  

• Olivia DeWolf, Kansas State University—Earl Dedman Scholarship ($2,200)

• Jane Godfrey, Colorado State University—Dewar Family Scholarship ($2,900)

• Emily Larsen, University of Wisconsin-River Falls—Ferriss Horticulture Scholarship ($2,100)

• Landon Erbrick, Auburn University—Garcia Family Scholarship ($2,800)

• Jamie Sykes, SUNY Farmingdale—Bob Gunter Scholarship ($2,800)

• Jenny Ryals, Mississippi State University—Richard T. Meister Scholarship ($4,300)  

• Lauren Staley, North Carolina State University—National Greenhouse Manufacturers Association (NGMA) Scholarship ($600)  

• Jennifer Suszek, College of DuPage—Mike and Flo Novovesky Scholarship ($3,000)  

• Greta Berg, Kansas State University—James K. Rathmell, Jr. Memorial Scholarship for Horticultural Work/Study Abroad ($4,100)  

• Haley Jacobs, Oklahoma State University—Seed Companies Scholarship ($2,600)

• Nadia Phillips, University of Minnesota—John L. Tomasovic, Sr. Scholarship ($1,600)

• Ammiela Elias, University of Rhode Island—Jacob and Rita Van Namen Marketing Scholarship ($2,100)  

AFE awards more than 30 scholarships annually thanks to industry donors and organizations. If you or your organization would like to discuss establishing a scholarship through AFE, please reach out. There are more students applying than funding available and these scholarships make a real difference to these students.

More details on AFE scholarships are available at AFE awards these scholarships annually and all applications are due by May 1 of each year. GT  

Advertiser Product Advertiser Product Advertiser Product