Skip to content
opens in a new window
Advertiser Product close Advertisement
Advertiser Product
Advertiser Product
Advertiser Product Advertiser Product Advertiser Product Advertiser Product

Sidney B. Meadows Fund Awards $26,000 in Scholarships

Matthew Chappell

The future is bright, especially for the 2022 Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship winners. This scholarship, created in 1989 by the Southern Nursery Association (SNA), announced the names of 13 students from seven universities chosen to receive academic scholarships this year. Eight of the awards are named scholarships honoring past industry leaders or loved ones and includes the newest named fund, the Sally Smith Scholarship.

This year’s awards were increased to $2,000 each, totaling $26,000. The fund has now awarded a total of $602,000 to students since it was established in 1989. Awards are being presented to the following excelling scholars:

• Ramsey Arram, North Carolina State University
• Forrest Brown, Virginia Tech, The Art & Millie Lancaster Scholarship
• Samuel de Bordes, Louisiana State University, The Dr. James & Faye Foret Scholarship
• Ashley Rene’ Edwards, Louisiana State University
• Landon Erbrick, Auburn University, The Sally Smith Scholarship
• Leandria Noelle Garrett, University of Georgia, The Robert L. Vanlandingham Scholarship
• Julian Ginori, University of Florida, The Richard J. Hackney Scholarship
• Johnathan Alexander Hampton, Auburn University, The Arthur A. “Buck” Jones Scholarship
• Carolyn Grace Krauss, University of Tennessee, The Dr. Bryson L. James Scholarship
• Thomas Maxwell McKeown, Louisiana State University, The Lee C. Howell Scholarship
• Luke Owen, North Carolina State University
• Kaitlin Swiantek, University of Georgia
• Jacob Logan Winkles, University of Georgia

“Congratulations to this exemplary group of students who have excelled academically and demonstrated determination and a passion for horticulture,” said Danny Summers, Executive Vice President of the fund. “We continue to hear from recipients how important these awards are in reducing their financial stress, allowing them the ability to concentrate more on their studies. I am confident each of these students will make an effective and positive contribution to our industry in the future. I look forward to seeing their accomplishments as they complete their studies.” GT

Advertiser Product Advertiser Product Advertiser Product