Shinoda Foundation Announces Recipients of Annual Scholarship Awards

Jennifer Zurko

Elite students from some of the country’s top floriculture programs received awards totaling $23,500 as the Shinoda Foundation Board of Trustees presented its annual scholarships.

“Our foundation was created to encourage fresh, ambitious young talent to pursue careers in floriculture, and our newest crop of scholarship recipients represents some of the best and brightest,” says Bob Otsuka, president of the Shinoda Foundation.

2019-20 Shinoda Foundation Scholarship recipients include:

• Sierra Hau, Senior, University of Wisconsin-River Falls: $4,000

• Max McKeown, Junior, University of Arkansas: $4,000

• Connor Evers, Junior, Iowa State University: $2,000

• Matthew Brady, Senior, California State Polytechnic University: $1,000

• Joshua Tebow, Junior, University of Arkansas: $1,000

• Gabrielle Thooft, Sophomore, South Dakota State University: $1,000

• Lucas West, Junior, University of Wisconsin-River Falls: $1,000

In addition, Matthew Brady received a $1,000 California Floral Council (CFC) Scholarship. The award, which goes to California residents, was established in 2005 by CFC President Hardy Neuendorff to help offset rising education costs.

This year’s Shinoda Design Center awardee is Robin Temple, a student at Golden West College. She received a $1,000 Shinoda Design Center Scholarship, which recognizes excellence among community college floral design students in Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside and San Diego counties.

Since 1965, The Shinoda Foundation has awarded more than $890,000 in scholarships to 706 students. Along with the individual awards, the Foundation also awards a grant to each student’s college or university. GT