GROWERTALKS

GT in Brief

10/15/2009

SAF Honors Industry Leaders at 125th Annual Convention

Jennifer Zurko

The Society of American Florists (SAF) awarded their highest honor to M. James Leider, CEO of Leider Horticultural Company, Buffalo Grove, Illinois. During its 125th Annual Convention held in Phoenix, Arizona, on September 24, SAF named Jim to the Floriculture Hall of Fame for his role in making green and flowering plants readily available to the consumer.

Also honored at the event was Dr. Marvin Miller, Market Research Manager for Ball Horticultural Company, West Chicago, Illinois. Marvin earned the Paul Ecke Jr. Award for his continued research and analysis of valuable data from all parts of the industry, state and federal governments. Presented by Paul Ecke III, Marvin credited Paul Ecke Jr. for inspiring him early in his career.

Other honorees were:

- Rich Salvaggio, vice president of industry relations for Teleflora, received the Tommy Bright Award.
- Dr. Lance Osborne, professor of Entomology and Nematology at the University of Florida, received the 2009 Alex Laurie Award.
- The late Jan van der Wereld, founder of World Flower B.V., received the Gold Medal Award. His son, Kees, accepted the award on his behalf.
- DuVal "Butch" Johnson received the John H. Walker Award for his role in establishing a scholarship program to help floral designers and managers continue their horticulture education.

Additional award winners:

- Professional Floral Communicators—International: Janet Black, Designs Florist & Interiors; Robert De Bellis, World Class Flowers; Michael Derouin, McArdle's Florist & Garden Center and freelance floral educator for Smithers-Oasis; Heather de Kok, Grower Direct Fresh Cut Flowers and Heather Kerr Floral Design; Mandy Majerik, HotHouse Design Studio.
- American Academy of Floriculture: Arliss Krieger, Greenleaf Wholesale Florist; Tina Stoecker,

Designs of the Times Florist; Brian J. Wheat, Lafayette Florist, Gift Shop & Greenhouses.

- 42nd Annual Sylvia Cup Winner: Cindy Anderson, a designer from Colorado Springs, Colorado; Honorable mention winners: Cathy Grim, Inglis Florists and Tonja VanderVeen, Designing Dreams.
- Century Award winners: Caruso Florists, Washington D.C.; Denver Wholesale Florists Company, Denver, Colorado; La Crosse Floral Company, La Crosse, Wisconsin; Dundalk Florists, Dundalk, Maryland; Eitel's Flowers & Gifts, Greencastle, Indiana. *GT*