Members Elect New Representatives to SAF Board

Jennifer Zurko

Members of the Society of American Florists (SAF) elected three new leaders—one from each segment—to serve on its Board of Directors during the association’s 135th annual convention on Amelia Island, Florida, in September. In addition, SAF members elected eight members to positions on the association’s Retailers, Wholesalers and Growers Councils.

The new members of SAF’s Board of Directors are Michael Pugh of Pugh’s Flowers in Memphis, Tennessee (Retailer); Liza Roeser of in Boise, Idaho (Wholesaler); and Stephen Kennicott of Kennicott Kuts in Donovan, Illinois (Grower).

Each segment council member is appointed to one of SAF’s joint councils—Government Relations, Consumer or Member Services—which meet twice-yearly immediately following the segment council meeting to provide more specific direction in their respective areas.

The new SAF Council members are:

• Retailer Council: Sandy Nielsen of Nielsen’s Florist and Garden Shop in Darien, Connecticut; Chris Norwood of Tipton & Hurst in Little Rock, Arkansas; and Brad Levy of Allan’s Flowers & Plants in San Diego

•  Wholesaler Council: Dave Torres of DWF Wholesale Florist in Denver, Colorado; and Lenny Walker of Kennicott Brothers in Chicago

• New Growers Council: Ross Johnson of RosaPrima in Miami; Rita Jo Shoultz of Alaska Perfect Peony in Fitz Creek, Alaska; and Susie Bachman West of Bachman’s in Minneapolis GT