Here Are Our Next 11 Employees

Chris Beytes

Congrats to the 11 horticulture students who’ve been honored with annual Shinoda Foundation Scholarships, worth a total of $21,000.
“The Shinoda Foundation thoughtfully selects our scholarship winners based on their superior academics, career goals, extracurricular activities, work experience and need,” says Bob Otsuka, president. “We’re very aware that these elite students can play a key role in horticulture’s continued growth.”
2017-18 Shinoda Foundation Scholarship winners include:

  • Megan Haresnape, Junior, Kansas State University ($5,000)
  • Olivia Fiala, Junior, University of Nebraska—Lincoln ($2,500)
  • Kaylee Ites, Junior, Texas A&M University ($1,500)
  • Melissa Eggleston, Junior, Michigan State University ($1,000)
  • Joanna Lambert, Sophomore, Louisiana State University ($1,000)
  • Leala Machesney, Junior, The University of Maine ($1,000)
  • Allyson Stolte, Senior, Delaware Valley University ($1,000
  • Sarah Houtsman, Junior, University of Georgia ($500)
  • Katelyn Stoops, Senior, University of Missouri—Columbia ($500)

This year, additional award winners include:

  • Alexandra Bickham, who received a $1,000 Shinoda Design Center scholarship
  • Gage Willey, who received a $1,000 California Floral Council Scholarship

Since 1965, The Shinoda Foundation has awarded more than $847,250 in scholarships to 684 students. GT